Is Cointreau Gluten-free?

Find out if Cointreau contains gluten and folks on a gluten-free diet can safely enjoy this orange liqueur.

Note: I am a Drizly affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy.

Cointreau is a popular higher-end type of triple sec. This orange-flavored liqueur can be found in many drink recipes that you’ve probably heard of, like cosmopolitans, margaritas, and mai tais.

The orange flavor gives a unique brightness to any drink and the bitterness from the bitter orange peels adds a nuanced flavor that feels higher quality than a generic triple sec brand.

Cointreau is made from a neutral sugar beet alcohol base that’s been flavored with sweet and bitter orange peels from one specific region in France. This type of orange liqueur or triple sec is proprietary based on where it is made and the specific ingredients involved in the making of this liqueur.

Read on: What is Cointreau?

Gluten is a protein that’s found in wheat and wheat-related grains. This can include wheat, barley, rye, kamut, farro, and spelt. For folks who cannot break down this protein in their diet, it’s important to know which types of alcohol are safe to consume regularly.

Some alcohol contains gluten while others don’t, which is why it’s helpful to look at each type of alcohol and brand with a close eye. Beer contains gluten and should be avoided on a gluten-free diet, but some other alcohols like whiskey, gin, scotch, and bourbon are generally okay to drink while gluten-free.

This is due to the fact that gluten gets distilled out of the final alcohol and what gluten was present in the malted barley in the beginning gets completely removed during distillation. This is helpful to know with all alcohol you might be drinking on a gluten-free diet.

As for liqueurs, this can be a little more tricky. Since there are no regulations around disclosing ingredients in alcoholic beverages, liquor producers don’t have to share what goes into their final products. This is an excellent resource for finding out which liqueurs are gluten-free.

If you follow a gluten-free diet, you know this can be a little unsettling. It’s hard to know which options are safe for you and which aren’t if there is very little information being shared as a consumer.

When it comes to triple sec and more specifically Cointreau, we can rest easy knowing that in the gluten-free community most triple sec and orange liqueurs are generally considered safe to drink.

It’s helpful to go to the brand and manufacturer to find out what their stance is on gluten and other allergens if you have a limited diet. You can review their website or do your own research to find out if others have had issues with gluten in a liquor or liqueur you’re planning to drink.

Read on: Cointreau vs Triple Sec: The Similarities and Differences

Read on: Is Cointreau Triple Sec?

Cointreau is considered gluten-free as there are no gluten ingredients or other gluten ingredients involved in the manufacturing process of this product. If you follow a gluten-free diet, you can definitely enjoy this triple sec in all your favorite drinks. 

Add Cointreau freely to any of your favorite drinks, and if you’d love to check out mine, here’s my Cointreau Margarita recipe. Give it a try!

In fact, this is probably a better bet than some of the other lower priced triple secs you may find, because the brand is so committed to quality and making sure their ingredients are consistent.

If you don’t have Cointreau on hand, you might consider another one of these Cointreau substitutes for your favorite drink recipes. 

I hope if you follow a gluten-free diet that this information has been helpful for you. Know that with any liqueur, you can do your own research at home to find out if a brand has gluten and if you can’t find out from the manufacturer themselves, then ask around in the gluten-free community to help you get an answer from others who have navigated this already.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *